Middle School February Perfect Attendance
Middle School February Perfect Attendance

NEJ Middle School Perfect Attendance awards for February go to

Luke Brownlee, Cameron Taylor and Coach Jana Byrd.

NEJ Yearbook

16 days ago

The Tiger

School Code: 14669


Congratulations to our 2024 NEJ Hall of Fame Members!
NEJ Middle School 7th graders Tour the Howard Industries Tech Park

Back row, left to right, Ridge Jones, Colby Martin, River Branch, and Tucker Milner.

Middle row, left to right, Amiya Chastang, Janette Hernandez, Brinkley Hearn, Lauren Hunter, Jaden Graham.

Front row, left to right, Kylie Bush, Ember Johnson, Emma Claire Lowe, Audria Belding, Caedence Hodge.

Milner National Merit Finalist and NEJ STAR Student

Northeast Jones Senior Tucker Milner has advanced to Finalist standing in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by demonstrating, through distinguished performance, high potential for future academic accomplishment.  

     The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition among high school students for recognition and college scholarships that begin in 1955.  United States high school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which serves as an initial screen of over 1.3 million entrants each year, and by meeting published program entry and  participation requirements.  Students who receive Finalist status compete for approximately 7,800 scholarships each year.  

Tucker Ryan Milner, son of Ryan and Heather Milner of Laurel,  has been named STAR Student for the 2023-2024 school year by the Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program.  The program will be held April 4, 2024, at the Clyde Muse Center in Pearl, MS.  The theme for the event is “Pathways to Success.”  This year will mark the 59th Anniversary of the STAR program.  Established by the Mississippi Economic Council in 1965, the purpose of the STAR program is to recognize outstanding students and teachers in Mississippi through its Education Celebration. 

Star Students are selected on the basis of academic excellence.  Both American College Test scores and scholastic averages are compared to determine the school’s STAR Student, explained Vickie Powell of Jackson, Senior Vice President of Foundations.  “The STAR program encourages and promotes academic achievement among  Mississippi’s high school seniors,” she said.  Each STAR student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher, the teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement. 

Tucker selected Mrs. Regina Milner as his STAR Teacher.  

NEJ Junior, Chloe Norwood Visits the State Capital
MCTM Math Competition Winners

 NEJ Junior, Chloe Norwood was recognized at our state capital by visiting with Senator Robin Robinson and Auditor Shad White on behalf of her Beta accomplishments. Chloe currently serves as Mississippi's State Beta Secretary.

Lauren Hunter selected as a Gates Scholar and a member of The Gates Scholarship Class of 2024
 Lauren Hunter selected as a Gates Scholar and a member of The Gates Scholarship Class of 2024

Congratulations to Lauren Hunter! Lauren was recently selected as a Gates Scholar and a member of The Gates Scholarship Class of 2024.  She was one of 750 Scholars selected from a pool of over 53,000 applicants from across the nation.  The scholarship is based on academic achievement, service, and commitment. The scholarship will aid in funding Lauren’s undergraduate education in addition to continuing to hone her leadership skills, prepare for professional life, and start building an enduring network of fellow Scholars and other distinguished individuals.  Lauren will also attend The Gates Scholarship Summer Institute this summer in Phoenix, Arizona.  Lauren plans to attend Mississippi State University this fall to pursue a degree in Biochemistry/Pre-Medicine. 

Accelerated Math Field Trip
 Accelerated Math Field Trip

The Middle School Accelerated Math students took a break from review to challenge themselves at Time Will Tell Escape Rooms! The students had lunch at Ed’s Burger Joint & also had a selfie scavenger hunt at the Pocket Museum in downtown Hattiesburg.  The students are taught by Mrs. Allison Jones (7th) and Mrs. Keri Padgett (8th).

NEJ Beta Brings Home Major Wins!
NEJ Beta Brings Home Major Wins!

CONGRATULATIONS to all of our members!! They worked so very hard on their competitions. We are so very proud of all of you!

Chloe Norwood: STATE Beta Secretary

1st Place: Campaign Skit (Ridge Jones, Emma Claire Lowe, Zoie Metz, Tucker Milner, Kooper Lightsey)

5th Place: Small Group Talent (Cassidy Hancock, Mireya Guardado, Janette Hernandez, Joselyn Castillo-Rodriguez, Kennedy Richardson, Becca Gentry, Alyssa Breland, Kara Walters)

2nd Place: Showchoir (Carson Walters, Collin Crager, Ashten Thornsberry, Kylie Bush, Kirsten Cooley, Audria Belding, Bralynn Bolen, Kaleigh Jones, Raylee Kate Walley, McKenna Compton, Chloe White, Sofia Monsivais)

2nd Place: Living Literature (Tucker Milner, Cannon Milner, Ember Johnson, Brinkley Hearn, Emma Cooley, Emi Williams Kilah Bustin, Alex McCreary, Savanna Hiatt)

2nd Place: Scrapbook (Emma Claire Lowe, Graison Holder, Jasmin Arenas, Sophie Thatch, Brooke Robinson, Lauren Hunter, Brinkley Hearn, Ridge Jones, Caroline Phillips, Kennedy Richardson)

3rd Place: Onsite Painting / Division I (Zoie Metz) 5th Place: Jewelry / Division II (Jasmin Arenas) 5th Place: Recyclable Art / Division II (Joselyn Castillo-Rodriguez)

4th Place: Pottery / Division II (Jaden Graham)

3rd Place: Fiber Arts / Division I (Jillian Butts)

4th Place: Drawing / Division I (Carter Bourg)

1st Place: Robotics (Kara Walters, Kade Chambers, Sterling Touchstone, Ilene Cruz-Rodriguez, Kennedy Richardson, Joselyn Castillo-Rodriguez, Lacy Davidson, Ridge Jones)

1st Place: Engineering (Jack Buckhaults, Karsen Lightsey, Ayden Thornsberry, Justin Walters, Isaac Vance)

3rd Place: Marketing and Communication (Jaden Graham, Colby Martin, Caedence Hodge, Brianna Dry)

3rd Place: Social Studies / 9th Grade (Wyatt Griffin)

1st Place: Math / 9th Grade (Collin Windham)

5th Place: Language Arts / 9th Grade (Brantlee Crager)

1st Place: Math / 10th Grade (Carter Bourg)

1st Place: French / 10th Grade (Kade Chambers)

3rd Place: French / 11th Grade (Cassidy Hancock)

1st Place: French / 12th Grade (Janette Hernandez)

4th Place: Language Arts / 12th Grade (Colby Martin)